It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding Australia: Home
This guide provides useful information and links to resources on Australia.
The following information have been carefully selected for your reference. Some resources may have bias perspectives. Please approach the SMU Libraries (firstname.lastname@example.org ) should you have any doubts or need clarifications.
This video gives a brief introduction and the top things to do while you are in Australia.
Learning the slang vocabulary used by any native English speakers is a challenge… And Australian slang is no exception!
Lessons are broken down into bite-sized chunks and it feels like you’re playing a game. Duolingo is a great introduction, but it can feel like you’re learning a random mix of information, often through repetition. The more you do, the more robust your vocabulary will be.
The only way to become fluent in a new language is to speak it. Tandem is geared toward conversations with native speakers. The idea is that you can help one another learn new languages via text, audio, and video chat. The app vets you and then helps you to find a partner who shares your interests. They teach you and you teach them.
Factiva have many content types includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.
Use this database to gain access to analyst reports and forecasts for both economic and political aspects. The reports examine and explain issues shaping the countries, including the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments.
Use Business Monitor International (BMI) Research to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.
This section informs the common scams and crimes to look out for when visiting Australia.
Australian travellers of all ages and backgrounds have been victims of scams overseas. Before you go overseas, be aware of some of the common scams that happen to travellers. Take steps to minimise your risk.
Find out more information on the common crime threats, areas of concerns, transportation-road safety, and even terrorism threat.
Books about Australia
This section lists some recommended readings about Australia.
Australia Money and Banking by World Trade PressMoney is a primary need when youOCOre on the road and has the potential to cause major stress. Get the upper hand with this informative report on currency, travelerOCOs checks, money wiring, ATMs, banks, and credit cards in Australia."
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Lifestyle Collection Level 2 DS779.23 .E24 2011
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Bigger or Better? by Saw Swee-Hock (Editor); Sheng Lijun (Editor); Chin Kin Wah (Editor)A comprehensive and detailed analysis of the controversial debate about Australia? population numbers, this book clarifies the subject and addresses the many misconceptions. It provides a historic account of Australia? population growth and a study of official data while examining the components of thatgrowth in detail, including birth rates and immigration as well as the more recent trend of an aging population. In addition, this thorough account also discusses the motives of the interested parties, both those who promote population growth and those who argue against it.
Call Number: Li Ka Shing Library Books Level 4 DS525.9.C5 A842 2005
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
English in Australia by David Blair; Peter CollinsThis unique collection fills a ten-year gap in studies on the nature of Australian English, and it is the first to deal exclusively with varieties of English on the Australian continent. The book contains chapters on the phonology, morphology, syntax and the lexicon of the dialect, and chapters on variation within the dialect that include Aboriginal and ethnic varieties as well as regional and generational differences with a focus on questions of Australian identity and intercultural relations. With selected contributions by Australia's leading linguists this volume records the most recent developments in the study of English within Australia.
Call Number: This is an E-book.
Publication Date: 2001-06-15
Engaging the Neighbours: Australia and ASEAN since 1974 by Frank FrostFrom modest beginnings in 1967, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) has become the premier regional institution in Southeast Asia. The 10 members are pursuing cooperation to develop the 'ASEAN Community' and also sponsor wider dialogues that involve the major powers. Australia has been interested in ASEAN since its inauguration and was the first country to establish a multilateral link with the Association, in 1974. Australia and ASEAN have subsequently engaged and cooperated on many issues of mutual concern, including efforts to secure an agreement to resolve the Cambodia conflict (signed in 1991), the initiation of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation grouping (1989) and the ASEAN Regional Forum (1994), the conclusion of the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement (signed in 2008) and the development of the East Asia Summit (from 2005). This book provides the first available detailed history of the evolution of Australia's interactions with ASEAN. It assesses the origins and phases of development of Australia's relations with ASEAN; the role ASEAN has played in Australian foreign policy since the 1970s; the ways in which the two sides have collaborated, and at times disagreed, in the pursuit of regional stability and security; and the key factors that will influence the relationship as it moves into its fifth decade.
The Vulnerable Country by Tom ConleyFocusing on Australia’s position within the global economy, this thorough reference presents a striking picture of the interaction between politics and economics. Beginning with historical analysis of this relationship, the study presents Australia’s origins as a convict settlement through its development of self-governing colonies to its ultimate development as a federation. Addressing such questions as How did Australia transform from a protected, insular country to an outwardly focused, globalized one? and Why, in the current economic climate, should Australia resist a return to its protectionist past?, this extensively researched account argues that now, more than ever, the state has a responsibility to promote diversification of trade while regulating economic activity and ensuring that the benefits of growth are spread as widely as possible.
Call Number: This is an E-Book.
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Government and Democracy in Australia by Mary Walsh; Jeffrey Harwood; Ian CookGovernment and Democracy in Australia covers most of the important aspects of government and democracy in Australia, by presenting a number of views and then asking readers to debate and discuss Australian politics. The tension between politics (understood as government) and democracy is anunderlying theme. A variety of factors that affect politics in Australia are examined, such as globalisation, the media and the internet, security and terrorism, as well as the basic aspects of Australian politics that must be addressed in a first year text. This new edition also covers the 2007Federal Election, and looks to the future under a new Labor government. New pedagogical features have been included to make the text even more accessible to undergraduate students.
Call Number: This is an E-Book.
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
Acceptable Use Policy
Electronic resources (e.g., databases, datasets, e-journals, e-books and streaming audio/video) provided by the SMU Libraries are governed by license agreements that restrict use to current students, faculty and staff of SMU and the Singapore Copyright Act.