Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMU Libraries

eTextbooks And Open Resources

This guide provides information on Textbooks open to the SMU Community and details pertaining to their access.

Introduction

Welcome to the eTextbooks and Open Resources LibGuide!  Click on the tabs on the side navigation panel to access more information about the library eTextbook collections. Information on alternative Open Access Textbooks and Resources can also be found here. 

More information on open resources can be found on the following guide:

E-Textbooks On Vitalsource Explore

To browse the library's collection of Vitalsource eTextbooks from various publishers, click here: Vitalsource Collection

Cloudsource OA - An Open Access Database for Textbooks, Journals, Articles, Chapters and other Open Educational Resources

 

Explore SMU Libraries' new Open Access content resource -- Cloudsource OA. Students, teachers, and researchers now have over 40 million high-quality scholarly journals, open textbooks, open eBooks, and open educational resources at their fingertips, making it easier than ever for everyone to take advantage of a growing body of Open Access content.

Easily browse the library’s open content collections anywhere from any device. Read and access peer-reviewed scholarly articles, eBooks, and eTextbooks with a single-click straight from the catalogue to find sources for your next research project or paper.

To learn more about how to gain access to this collection of resources, or to start searching today, visit Clousource OA repository  or ask your librarian!

Open Textbooks Collections

 

A set of Open Access eBooks, journals and articles from various publishers and initiatives can be accessed here.

These resources provide more liberal use than traditionally published academic resources which are protected by copyright.

 

     

 

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy