Research Guides: Corporate Finance (FNCE 650): Company Research

Resources on Private Companies

Crunchbase This link opens in a new window
Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
To access this database, please fill up this form -- https://forms.office.com/r/ksXauSGNAu for the login details. Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed. Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.

How can I search on Crunchbase?
- https://support.crunchbase.com/hc/en-us/articles/360046653554-How-can-I-search-on-Crunchbase-
- 3 options for you to locate information by Quick Search, Query Builder or Advanced Search.
Crunchbase Knowledge Center
- https://support.crunchbase.com/hc/en-us/categories/115001579268-Crunchbase-Pro

Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
EMIS
ISI Emerging Markets

Orbis This link opens in a new window
Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information.
Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform.
How do I filter/search for private companies?
Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
PitchBook contains data on start-ups, their valuations and investment deals (by Private Equity firms, VCs and angel investors), along with their exits (acquisitions, IPOs, closings) for over two decades.
Download limits:
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal or fund data.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of people data per user.