Research Guides: Real Estate Track: FNCE 231

Textbooks

Finance for Real Estate Development by Charles Long
Call Number: HD1390 .L66 2011

ISBN: 9780874201574

Publication Date: 2011-04-25

Explaining how finances drive each decision in the real estate development process, this helpful industry guide recognizes the complexities and significant risks of each project and illustrates how to reconcile conflicting elements to ultimately achieve success. A 36-year real estate development veteran, author Charles Long shares the practical information and personal insights that he has gained over the course of his career, and weaves relevant real world examples into the text, helping to clarify the principles necessary to effectively manage a project in today’s financial landscape. Ideal both for those starting out in real estate development and experienced professionals who want to learn the theory behind the practice, this book offers a different perspective on making the monetary decisions that are involved in property development projects.
Foundations of Real Estate Financial Modelling by Roger Staiger
Call Number: This is an ebook.

ISBN: 9781317687108

Publication Date: 2015-04-10

Foundations of Real Estate Financial Modelling is specifically designed to provide an overview of pro forma modelling for real estate projects. The book introduces students and professionals to the basics of real estate finance theory before providing a step-by-step guide for financial model construction using Excel. The idea that real estate is an asset with unique characteristics which can be transformed, both physically and financially, forms the basis of discussion. Individual chapters are separated by functional unit and build upon themselves to include information on: Amortization Single-Family Unit Multi-Family Unit Development/Construction Addition(s) Waterfall (Equity Bifurcation) Accounting Statements Additional Asset Classes Further chapters are dedicated to risk quantification and include scenario, stochastic and Monte Carlo simulations, waterfalls and securitized products. This book is the ideal companion to core real estate finance textbooks and will boost students Excel modelling skills before they enter the workplace. The book provides individuals with a step-by-step instruction on how to construct a real estate financial model that is both scalable and modular. A companion website provides the pro forma models to give readers a basic financial model for each asset class as well as methods to quantify performance and understand how and why each model is constructed and the best practices for repositioning these assets.

Databases

For Real Estate Data

Preqin Real Estate
Real Estate add-on includes intelligence on the private real estate fund industry. It provides information on all areas of the private real estate asset class, including institutional investor, fund, performance, deal and asset data.

Real Estate research data is only available through the main Preqin platform.
Bloomberg Professional Services
Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intraday data.
Use Bloomberg computers at the Investment Studio on Level 3 of the Library.
REALIS
This REALIS (Real Estate Information System) database provides access to comprehensive information on the Singapore property market. It contains a wide range of statistics on the private residential, commercial and industrial sectors, as well as details about individual projects. Use REALIS to obtain data such as prices of transacted sales of properties, vacancy rate, available and occupied floor space, rental property indices and rental per square metre.

Access: 2 concurrent users.
Remember to logout at the end of your session. REALIS is not accessible daily between 3 am to 5 am as the REALIS server is down for maintenance.
Preqin
Preqin provides data and information on the private equity asset class and includes: fund information, fund manager profiles, performance analysis, buyout deals analysis and investor intelligence.

Access via Preqin alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

For industry reports

Fitch Connect
Use Fitch Connect (formerly Business Monitor International (BMI) Research) to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Service categories include amongst others: Pharmaceuticals & Healthcare, Food & Drink, Consumer Electronics, Banking, Infrastructure, Oil & Gas, Transport, Travel and Tourism, Retail, Telecommunications and Commodities. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.

When you are at the landing page, select either module based on the information you want.
Fitch ratings Pro - Credit research and insights across various sectors and industries, except fundamental data.
BMI - Country risk and industry analysis focusing on macroeconomic, political, industry and operational insights
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
Passport
Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis.

Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.
Orbis
Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information.
Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform.
How do I filter/search for private companies?
Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.

News Databases

Factiva
Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets.

Note: Downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.
Financial Times
FT.com includes breaking news, commentary, data and analysis. Take advantage of the premium learning tools such as Alerts Hub, FT clippings, FT Mobile, ePaper, FT Lexicon (glossary) and annotation tool. FT archive begins with 28 January 2009 issue.

To access, click Sign In on the top of the homepage.
If you are a first-time user you will be prompted to fill in some information after logging in.
Mobile version for smart phones and tablets is available.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ)
WSJ provides current global news and probing analysis of markets, corporations, financials and technology. News archive is available up to latest 7-year.

One-time registration is required, using your SMU email address.
After you have successfully created your account, you can access the service anywhere, across devices.
Economist.com
Economist.com covers issues in global business and politics. The coverage includes the archive of articles published since 1997 from the print edition of The Economist magazine, and 2000 to current issues come complete with graphs, tables and pictures.

Login instructions.