Mergers and Acquisitions: Databases

Access to global legal content from Lexis for jurisdictions, including, but not limited to, the United States, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Australia. Singapore content includes the online version of Halsbury's Laws of Singapore, Woon's Corporation Law, Civil Practice in Singapore and Malaysia, Singapore Court Practice, and Atkins Court Forms.

Thomson Reuters Westlaw - This is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information by combining materials from renowned information providers such as Sweet & Maxwell, Carswell and West Group. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories.

To access non-US materials, click on International Materials before performing a search.

Access: 50 concurrent users.

To access:
1. Check [I agree].
2. Click on [Go].

Take note that excessive downloading of content is strictly prohibited.

Kluwer Competition Law is a useful competition law research resource. It contains commentary in the form of a collection of books and journals on the subject. It provides information by jurisdiction, e-competitions, antitrust, mergers, state aid and liberalization. It also provides a current awareness service covering news and blog entries on the topic.

This bibliographic database provides citations of articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications and open access (OA) journals. It covers all areas of jurisprudence, court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship. Data starts from 1981 to present.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

This database has five major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, the Philip C. Jessup Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library. These libraries are fully searchable image-based PDFs, enabling users to view all pages as they originally appeared in hardcopy including all charts, graphs, and photographs. Furthermore, the coverage are from the inception of each publication.

The Social Science Research Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The Library subscribes to: Accounting Research Network (ARN), Economics Research Network (ERN), Financial Economics Network (FEN), Legal Scholarships Network (LSN), Management Research Network (MRN), Entrepreneurship Research & Policy Network (ERPN) and Corporate Governance Network (CGN).

Access to subscribed articles are restricted to SMU faculty who have registered with SSRN.
Step-by-step registration

A comprehensive business database that offers articles in the broad areas of business, applied economics and law. It incorporates titles from ProQuest Asian Business, European Business, Accounting & Tax and Banking Information Source databases. It includes trade publications as well as Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed).

Business Source Ultimate covers business topics such as marketing, management information systems, accounting, finance, banking, and economics mostly from journals. Use the Company View to find detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, products, employees and industry specifics for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Related content includes case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, articles from business journals, magazines and trade publications, market research reports, product reviews, news articles and country reports. Access over 74,000 videos from the Associated Press. It indexes Harvard Business Review from 1922.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

FT.com includes breaking news, commentary, data and analysis. Take advantage of the premium learning tools such as Alerts Hub, FT clippings, FT Mobile, ePaper, FT Lexicon (glossary) and annotation tool. FT archive begins with 28 January 2009 issue.

To access, click Sign In on the top of the homepage.
If you are a first-time user you will be prompted to fill in some information after logging in.
Mobile version for smart phones and tablets is available.

This database contains fundamental financial and market information and provides extensive coverage of the world market place. It provides detailed information for approximately 11,000 companies from 65 countries representing Europe, Asia, the Pacific Rim, the Americas, Africa, and the Middle East, along with market data for local market indexes and world currencies. It also gives critical financial information on a wide range of industrial, insurance, banking and other financial service companies.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.

This database allows concurrent database access to Compustat's financial data and CRSP's stock data. Use this database to simplify matching Compustat's financial data to CRSP's stock data.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.

Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.

RiskMetrics (through ISS Governance Services) is a leader in corporate governance data. The data sets have been the foundation of a broad range of academic research into corporate governance practices and trends - both pre- and post-Sarbanes-Oxley. Academics and investors utilize this data to monitor and analyze trends, including best practices within S&P 1500 Composite Index. The Governance Legacy set was known as the IRRC Takeover Defense database. The Directors Data includes a range of variables related to individual board directors. Voting Results Data includes for years 1997-2006 all governance shareholder proposals and all non-routine management proposals for which vote results were obtained. Shareholder Proposal Data (governance and social responsibility) includes proposals that came to a vote as well as those that did not.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.

This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.

Ivy DB Historical Database, also commonly known as OptionMetrics, provides historical prices and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. It contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities. Data is updated annually and available starting from 1996. Use this product to backtest trading strategies, evaluate risk models, and perform research on various aspects of options investments.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
For undergraduates, please register for Day Pass access with your SMU email.
For faculty, staff and postgraduates, register for your individual account.

WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Data delivery options include a web query method, the WRDS Cloud for executing research and strategy development, and the WRDS client server using PCSAS, Matlab, and R.

Registration is required for access to WRDS.
Register for your individual account or obtain a Day Pass access with your SMU email.

S&P Capital IQ is a web-based platform that has private and public company information, executive profiles, industry analysis, basic commodities information, economic data, historical and future estimates, and a screening function to create lists of companies/people using various criteria.
If you encounter any issues with running the Excel Plug-In please run the batch file again.

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

This database provides citations and abstracts to economic research from 1969. It is produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews. Use EconLit to find relevant articles for all fields in economics, such as econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, finance, monetary theory and urban economics.
Check the Classification Codes for EconLit Advanced Search.
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information.
Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform.
How do I filter/search for private companies?
Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form