Economic Development in Asia (ECON 118): Statistics/Data

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.

For data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, international transactions, and government accounts. Data can be viewed by country, region, or world aggregate with time series for up to 30 years and is updated monthly. Data covering balance of payments, international investments and national accounts are also available. Produced by the International Monetary Fund.

This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.

China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (CSYD) is the largest, continuously updated statistical yearbooks full-text database in China. The platform includes various types of statistical yearbooks including national, regional, industry and enterprise yearbooks.

Access: 5 concurrent users only

National Population Census of China (NPCC) provides census data for the study of the condition and periodic evolution of the Chinese population. It includes the 2010 census of population data for the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities.