Skip to Main Content

Philosophy: Background Information

Research guide to resources for Philosophy

Introduction to Philosophy

An Introduction to Chinese Philosophy by Karyn L. Lai
Call Number: B5231 .L34 2008
ISBN: 9780521846462
Publication Date: 2008-07-31
An Introduction to Political Philosophy by Jonathan Wolff
Call Number: JA71 .W67 2006
ISBN: 019929609X
Publication Date: 2006
Archetypes of Wisdom : an introduction to philosophy by Douglas J. Soccio
Call Number: BD21 .S616 2001
ISBN: 0534566553
Publication Date: 2001
Descartes to Derrida by Peter Sedgwick
Call Number: B791 .S39 2001
ISBN: 0631201424
Publication Date: 2001
Introduction to Philosophy by Louis P. Pojman
Call Number: BD21 .I54 2000
ISBN: 0534509851
Publication Date: 2000
Introduction to World Philosophy by Daniel Bonevac (Editor); Stephen Phillips (Editor); Daniel A. Bonevac; Stephen H. Phillips
Call Number: BD21 .B66 2009
ISBN: 9780195152319
Publication Date: 2009
Open Questions : an introduction to philosophy by Emmett Barcalow
Call Number: BD21 .B28 2001
ISBN: 0534519075
Publication Date: 2001
Philosophical Inquiries : an introduction to problems of philosophy by Nicholas Rescher
Call Number: BD21 .R47 2010
ISBN: 9780822960751
Publication Date: 2010
Philosophy Goes to the Movies : an introduction to philosophy by Christopher Falzon
Call Number: BD21 .F34 2007
ISBN: 041535725X
Publication Date: 2007
Think : a compelling introduction to philosophy / Simon Blackburn by Simon Blackburn
Call Number: BD21 .B47 1999
ISBN: 0192100246
Publication Date: 1999
Thinking It Through by Anthony Appiah
Call Number: BD21 .A68 2003
ISBN: 0195160282
Publication Date: 2003
Philosophy : a beginner's guide by Peter Cave
Call Number: BD21 .C384 2012
ISBN: 9781851689378
Publication Date: 2012
Philosophy: all that matters by Julian Baggini
Call Number: BD21 .B344 2012
ISBN: 9781444155839
Publication Date: 2012
Just the Arguments : 100 of the most important arguments in Western philosophy by Michael Bruce (Editor); Steven Barbone (Editor)
Call Number: BD21 .J87 2011
ISBN: 9781444336375
Publication Date: 2011
Three Questions We Never Stop Asking by Michael Kellogg
Call Number: BD21 .K42 2010
ISBN: 9781616141868
Publication Date: 2010

Handbooks

Handbook of Philosophical Logic by F. Guenthner (Editor); D. M. Gabbay (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402030918
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy by Frank Jackson (Editor); Michael Smith (Editor)
Call Number: B790 .O94 2007
ISBN: 019924295X
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy by Jay Garfield; William Edelglass
Call Number: BD21 .O78 2011
ISBN: 9780195328998
Publication Date: 2011-05-23
The SAGE Handbook of Philosophy of Education by Robin Barrow (Editor); Christine McCarthy (Editor); David Carr (Editor); Richard Bailey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847874672
Publication Date: 2010

Dictionaries & Encyclopedia

A to Z of Philosophy by Alexander Moseley; Moseley
Call Number: B51 .M67 2008
ISBN: 9780826499479
Publication Date: 2009-01-27
Dictionary of Philosophy by Alan Lacey
Call Number: B41 .L33 2001
ISBN: 0415133327
Publication Date: 1996-09-11
Dictionary of World Philosophy by A. Pablo Iannone
Call Number: B41 .I26 2001
ISBN: 0415179955
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by Antonio S. Cua (Editor)
Call Number: B126 .E496 2003
ISBN: 0415939135
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy by Henrik Lagerlund (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402097287
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Paul Edwards
Call Number: B51 .E53 1996
ISBN: 0028949706
Publication Date: 1996
Key Concepts in Philosophy by Paddy McQueen; Hilary McQueen
Call Number: B51 .M38 2010
ISBN: 9780230231580
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: B41 .C35 1999
ISBN: 052163136X
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Ted Honderich (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199264797
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Companion to the Mind by Richard L. Gregory (Editor)
ISBN: 0198662246
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon Blackburn
ISBN: 9780199541430
Publication Date: 2008
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
IEP (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP project began in September 1995 and is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy