Research Guides: Financial Accounting (ACCT611): Big 4 & Internet Resources

Big 4 Accounting Firms

Deloitte & Touche LLP
Deloitte Research has useful research reports and guides. Use Advanced Search to find particular publications. "IFRS in Your Pocket 2010" provides a good summary of accounting standards.
Ernst & Young
EY’s perspective on pressing business issues and industry analysis are available on Issues and Industries respectively.
KPMG
KPMG Publications has reports, survey, and newsletters on 4 key areas: Audit, Tax, Advisory, and Industry Specific.
PricewaterhouseCoopers
Visit Industries for PwC’s research and perspective on industry issues. Visit Publications for other PwC’s reports and newsletters.

Credit Suisse
Check out the Market Data page for updates and the Research page for their investment research and publications.

Some investment banks offer free investment publications and insights. Below are some selected sites for your reference:

Goldman Sachs
Check out the Ideas page for their investment perspectives and global economic outlook.
Morgan Stanley
Check out their Global Economic Forum for insights.
UBS
Check out the Research For You page for their publications, news, research update, economic forecasts, and dictionary of banking.

If you have a link that you feel would be a good addition to this page, please send me your recommendation.

Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Singapore (ICPAS)
ICPAS is the leading accountancy body in Singapore. Visit Members’ Handbook and Technical Resources for accounting & auditing standards. Visit Industry News and Economic Watch for news and economy updates.
Accounting Standards Council (ASC)
ASC in Singapore prescribes accounting standards for companies, charities, co-operative societies, and societies.
Singapore Exchange Limited (SGX)
The Listed Companies page provides company announcements, financial reports, and other corporate informations. The Investor Centre has investor guides and resources, including research reports.
Investopedia.com: Financial Dictionary
This dictionary by Investopedia contains over 7000 financial terms. Searchable by keyword, category, or alphabet.
Yahoo! Finance -
A good information source for free stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, etc.

Beginners' Guide to Financial Statements
This brochure by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is designed to help you gain a basic understanding of how to read financial statements.

Below are some reference tools to help you learn how to evaluate stocks and read annual reports:

Guide to Learn How to Read Annual Reports
This guide by IBM provides a road map of understanding financials in a company's annual report.
Advanced Overview of Financial Statements Analysis
This tutorial by Investopedia teaches you how to analyze financial statements and how to identify the important factors that help you make a better investment decision.
Video: What is Fundamental Analysis?
This video by Investopedia explains what fundamental analysis is and how it can help you evaluate stocks.
Fundamental Analysis: Financial Statements
This tutorial by Investopedia provides a foundation for understanding fundamental analysis.
Stock-Picking Strategies: Introduction
This tutorial by Investopedia examines some of the most popular strategies for finding good stocks
Stock-Picking Strategies: Value Investing
This tutorial by Investopedia talks about value investing -- one of the best known stock-picking methods.