Global Supply Chains (OPIM324): Databases

CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.

EIU Viewpoint is a macroeconomic analysis and data platform which helps to assess global dynamics that could impact business with insights into a country’s geopolitics, policies, industries, business environment and economic outlook. Data spans from 1980s to 2050 for nearly 80 countries globally as well as coverage of over 26 sectors across 6 major industries (e.g. financial services, healthcare, telecommunications & technology) and 25 core commodities (e.g. gold, nickel, crude oil, rice, coffee).

Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
EMIS
ISI Emerging Markets

Use Fitch Connect (formerly Business Monitor International (BMI) Research) to locate SWOT analysis, risk/reward ratings, macroeconomic forecasts and brief company profiles for countries in Asia and the Middle East. Service categories include amongst others: Pharmaceuticals & Healthcare, Food & Drink, Consumer Electronics, Banking, Infrastructure, Oil & Gas, Transport, Travel and Tourism, Retail, Telecommunications and Commodities. Use the data and forecast feature to compare geographies and indicators to perform analysis and generate charts.

When you are at the landing page, select either module based on the information you want.
Fitch ratings Pro - Credit research and insights across various sectors and industries, except fundamental data.
BMI - Country risk and industry analysis focusing on macroeconomic, political, industry and operational insights

MarketLine Advantage offers a large collection of reports and data. The content includes case studies, reports on countries, industries and companies, company news and financial deals. The Country Statistics database provides historical and forecasted macro/socio-economic and demographic data. The Market Data Analytics database contains data on various fast-moving consumer goods and includes brand share, company share, distribution channels, consumer graphics and market value/volume.

Use Orbis to find, analyse and compare over 400 million public and private companies. The database also contains industry research, financials and corporate ownership information.
Orbis is also now available from the WRDS platform.
How do I filter/search for private companies?
Search by: Official > Standardised Legal Form

Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Please Note: SMU Libraries no longer have subscription to Pitchbook. You can use Crunchbase for similar content.

PitchBook contains data on start-ups, their valuations and investment deals (by Private Equity firms, VCs and angel investors), along with their exits (acquisitions, IPOs, closings) for over two decades.
Download limits:
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal or fund data.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of people data per user.