Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
Peace Palace Library
The Peace Palace Library (PPL) site is your first port of call when beginning International legal research. There reasons being:
1. Provides excellent guides on key areas of international law
2. The PPL is one of the largest collections of international law in the world. Their online catalogue is a comprehensive bibliography as the PPL indexes journal articles and chapters in books.
3. Your can also sign up to get weekly alerts to current sources being added to the collection. On the top bar of their website under Library services you can find a reference to Alerts and RSS feeds: http://www.peacepalacelibrary.nl/library-services/news-services/alerts-rss/ It tells you “A small version of the RSS icon appears next to each subject on our new titles webpage “
When you click on the blue link “new titles webpage” it will lead you to this page: http://www.peacepalacelibrary.nl/collection/about-the-collection/new-titles/ where you can fill in your details and tick the boxes of the subjects you want to be notified on.
Research Guides on Specific Topics
Note: The following links are reproduced from the ASIL site.
Provides an overview of the instruments, documents, and other resources for researching the European Union, a legal system based on a "supranational" legal framework.
International Human Rights
The focus of this chapter is on the main organizations which promulgate human rights instruments: the United Nations, the Council of Europe, the International Labour Organization, the Organization of American States, and many others. The chapter points to Web sites for locating primary documents, including international instruments, case law, and other relevant information. It also provides links and tips for locating secondary sources, such as country reports, NGO documentation, and periodical literature.
International Intellectual Property Law
Provides information for locating the major international intellectual property treaties and agreements, links to the most important international bodies dealing with IP issues, and information on how to locate domestic legislation.
International Commercial Arbitration
Reviews the major international commercial arbitration institutions and agreements. A major component of this chapter is a detailed listing of national arbitration statutes. There is also a section on Lexis and Westlaw.
International Criminal Law
Provides links to international, regional, and national courts, as well as to law enforcement organizations, such as INTERPOL. It guides researchers to Web sites that address special categories of crimes -- war, environmental or drug-related, not to mention terrorism and genocide -- as well as to statistical and clearinghouse information sources.
International Economic Law
The author presents "an overview of electronic resources in this dynamic and evolving area of law." The materials are organized generally into "International Trade Law" including export-import materials, ISO and ICC information, as well as treaty sources; "International Financial Law" from such organizations as the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), MIGA, IFC and the World Bank; "Regional Economic Integration;" "International Development Law;" "Private International Law" and "International Business Regulation" which includes subsections on competition, e-commerce, environment, and taxation.
International Environmental Law
This chapter organizes links to subject-relevant sections of a wide variety of international organizations -- the UN and its specialized agencies, ASEAN, Council of Europe, the EU, WTO, NAFTA, OAU, OECD, OAS, and many more. Later, the author identifies and links to secondary sources and online discussion groups.
International Humanitarian Law
An overview on researching the law of war and law of armed conflict is presented in this chapter. In addition to the Geneva and Hague law, information on leading institutions, military resources, and related topics is included.
Provides a brief introduction to the concepts of "intergovernmental organizations" and "non-governmental organizations" as well as a discussion of electronic resources helpful in researching these organizations. Links to the Web sites of representative intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations have been selected to highlight access to their documents and other publications.
Private International Law
This chapter specifies those international organizations that are drafting conventions, model laws, legal guides, and other documents and instruments related to commercial arbitration and sales of goods. There are links to the UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules, the UNIDROIT Conventions on International Financial Leasing, and the Hague Conventions on Private International Law that cover taking of evidence, child abduction, and service of documents abroad, among others.
Public International Law
Supplemented by the work of international organizations, the sources of international law identified in ICJ Art. 38 provide a useful framework for discussing the resources for researching international law. Information on locating basic documents, evidence of state practice, secondary resources, specialized libraries and research centers, and important monitoring sources on current developments is covered. This chapter is forthcoming.
Identifies and directs researcher to access points within the UN system before focusing on areas such as international law and treaties. Web resources that have been developed by various UN organs, for example, the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) and UNHCR (UN High Commissioner for Refugees) are highlighted. Other research guides and tools are provided, followed by a description of the various commercial sources of UN materials online or on CD-ROM.
Law of the Sea
This chapter of the ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law provides a guide to the electronic resources available to research the law of the sea. The types of resources covered emphasize internet sites, but also include library catalogs and on-line subscription and commercial services. The emphasis here is on English-language sources. General search strategies for conducting research in this area are included in Section XI.