Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
How to define “social problems”?
Week 1 Book List
Social Problems in a Diverse Society by
Publication Date: 2012-03-13
1. Konradi, Amanda and Martha Schmidt. 2004. Reading between the Lines. Toward an Understanding of Current Social Problems. 3rd Edition. McGraw Hill. Chapter 1: A Conceptual toolkit. Pp. 1-13.
2. Kendall, Diana. 2010. Social Problems in a Diverse Society. 5ed. Allyn and Bacon. Chapter 1: Studying Social Problems. Pp.1-8.
3. Loseke, Donileen R. 2003. Thinking about Social Problems. An Introduction to Constructionist Perspectives. 2nd ed. New Brunswick: Transaction Publishers. Chapter 1. Examining Social Problems, pp. 3-13.
Thinking about Social Problems by
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Other Resources in the Library
Books are a great source of in-depth information on a specific topic or for an overview of a subject.
Search the Library Catalogue.
Handbook of contemporary families: Considering the past, contemplating the future
Covers various aspects of families, including gender, children, structure, ethnicity, and technology.
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies
Provides an overview of gender studies and includes chapters on culture, globalization, technology and work.
Handbook of social problems: A comparative international perspective
Offers overviews of various areas that can be identified as social problems and includes gender inequality, globalization, health, media and technology.
Handbook of social theory
Covers the roots, current debates and future development of social theory.
International handbook of sociology
Covers the developments in the international arena for sociology and includes stratification, ethnicity, family, political sociology, social movements, housing and even art and leisure.
Sage handbook of sociology
Covers theories and methods in sociology, processes and debates in sociology.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, 2nd ed.
Completely written by Allan Johnson, it contains explanations of central concepts of sociology and related areas. The print edition is found in the book collection on Level 3: HM425 .J64 2000.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Offers a better understanding of key concepts, theorists, and theories. The two-volume print edition is found in the book collection on Level 3: HM425 .E47 2004.
Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed.
Offers summaries and future developments of a wide range of topics relevant to sociology. Covers concepts, subfields, theoretical approaches, techniques and methodologies. The 5-volume print edition is found in the book collection on Level 3: HM425 .E5 2000.