Research Guides: Social Sciences Research Navigator: Books

Books

Books are a great source of in-depth information on a specific topic or for an overview of a subject.

Oxford Reference Online
Access and search across various dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences

ACLS Humanities E-book This link opens in a new window
Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of over 5,800 full-text high-quality titles which are fully searchable. Titles focus on the Humanities, comparative and world studies, history, philosophy, political science, area studies on Asia, Southeast Asia, Europe, Middle East, United States of America. The years of publication range from 1880s to present. The collection is offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with other learned societies and publishers.

EBSCOhost ebook Collection
Read the electronic version of these books on EBSCOhost. The books cover topics like management, marketing, history, leadership, literature. In order to download and read eBooks offline, you must have Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher installed on your computer as well as a My EBSCOhost account.

PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this database to access book chapters from titles published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other related publishers. It has the full text of many classic books in psychology. Use this database also to find the entries in the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.

Sage Knowledge
Access the full text of 80 handbooks published by Sage covering topics in business, psychology and the social sciences.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier journals)
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from over 3,500 journals and more than 34,000 books.
SpringerLINK
Provides access to full text from Springer. Subject areas covered includes Behavioral Sciences, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Mathematics, Statistics and Medicine.

Taylor and Francis Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Search and access journals published by Routledge and Taylor & Francis. The full text of journals of over 1,100 journals in the Social Science and Humanities Collection are available. Subjects covered include in the Economics, Finance, Business & Industry, Area Studies, Behavioural Sciences, Politics, International Relations, Sport and Leisure Management.