Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMU Libraries

How do I Locate Law Journal Articles?: Specific Journals

Guide to locating law journal articles within the Library's collection.

Database user guides

Where to go

Using E-Journals

 

To search the Library’s Journal collection, click on Journals link just below the Library search box on the Law Research Navigator.

Alternatively, you can access the Library search box directly on the Library website.

This enables you to search the alphabetical index of the more than 72,000 online journals the Library has access to in full text.

Eg.. Chan Wing Cheong, "Requirement of Fault in Strict Liability" (1999) 11 SAcLJ 98 

Enter the title of the journal, ‘Singapore Academy of Law Journal’, in the search box and click on the search button.

 

Note: you can only search for journal title here. You cannot search for the article title

 

The results show that the library has access to this journal via the database HeinOnline Click on the link to view the article. 

Note: Journals indexed on Lexis and Westlaw will not show up in the library catalogue. Please refer to the database user guides on how to locate journals on these databases. 

This will bring you to the journal issues within the database as shown below.

 

 

Scroll down and click '11 (1999)' to release the dropdown menu. 

 Scroll down to page 98 to find the article.

 

Click on the pdf icon to download the pdf format of the article.

 

NOTE: Sometimes, the publisher sets an embargo period, usually for the previous year. This is indicated by the volumes of a journal having the words, "Indexing Only" next to it. These volumes will only show citation information and not the full-text.

 

 

 

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy