Skip to Main Content

Singapore Law: Reference Tools

Guide to Singapore legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more.

Useful Singapore Reference Tools

Halsbury's Laws of Singapore
Call Number: Periodicals KPP2.5 .H35
Words, phrases & maxims : legally & judicially defined by Anandan Krishnan
Call Number: KD313 .K75 2008

ISBN: 9679629554

Publication Date: 2008

Periodicals KD313 .K75

Citators

LawCite
is a free legal citator service. The service covers Australia, the Pacific, Hong Kong, the UK, Ireland, Cyprus, member countries of SAFLII and other common law jurisdictions.

Legal Abbreviations

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Index to legal citations and abbreviations
Abbreviations of Legal Publications
(Monash University Library)
Bluebook Abbreviations of Law Reviews & Legal Periodicals
(M.G. Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington School of Law)

Judicial Dictionaries

Words, phrases & maxims : legally & judicially defined by Anandan Krishnan
Call Number: KD313 .K75 2008

ISBN: 9679629554

Publication Date: 2008
Stroud's judicial dictionary of words and phrases by Daniel Greenberg
Call Number: KD313 .S77 2016

ISBN: 9780414057227

Publication Date: 2016
Words and phrases legally defined. by David Hay
Call Number: KD313 .W67 2007

ISBN: 9781405727747

Publication Date: 2007

Online Dictionaries

Findlaw Law Dictionary
Law.com Dictionary
Online legal dictionary - claims.co.uk
Oxford Dictionary of Law
Parliamentary Glossary (Singapore)
Plain English for Latin Expressions
more... less...

The Singapore Academy of Law, Law Reform Committte has prepared a guide to common Latin expressions used in legal parlance.
Wex
more... less...

Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Print Dictionaries

Black's law dictionary by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2014

ISBN: 031462130X

Black's Law Dictionary is also available on Westlaw
Osborn's concise law dictionary by Mick Woodley
Call Number: KD313 .O8 2013

ISBN: 041402320X

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy