Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy
NewspaperSG This link opens in a new window
Search the contents of 19 historic and current newspapers of Singapore and Malaya. It includes The Straits Times (1845-2006), Singapore Chronicle (1831-1836), Straits Observer (1874-1897), Malayan Saturday Post (1924-1933), current newspapers like The Business Times from 2007 and TODAY from 2005. The full-text of 17 newspapers, especially The Straits Times for the period 1845-1989 can be viewed online.
for the full text of The Straits Times from July 1989 and Business Times from 1984.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search for news articles from major national and international newspapers. Find Singapore and international company overviews using the Company Quick Search. Read the latest news from top business sources "at-a-glance" with the NewsPages feature.
Straits Times This link opens in a new window
Access and read all the latest Singapore and international news from the Straits Times online, web version. With ST Online or Straits Times.com, you can find additional content from STOMP, the citizenship journalism section, the forum, videos and blogs. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive. For earlier issues of full text articles use Factiva. Please note subscription does not include the Classifieds and Recruit Sections.
Business Times This link opens in a new window
Access and read all the latest business news from Business Times online, web version. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive.
LawNet This link opens in a new window
Click on the Legal Research menu tab followed by the Advanced Search option. Next, select Reference Materials under Resources and select only the Press Articles and Commentaries options to access legal news articles.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
FT.com includes breaking news, commentary, data and analysis. Take advantage of the premium learning tools such as Alerts Hub, FT clippings, FT Mobile, ePaper, FT Lexicon (glossary) and annotation tool. FT archive begins with 28 January 2009 issue.
for smart phones and tablets is available.
Access requirements: Registration required
(use your SMU email).
New York Times This link opens in a new window One-time registration
is required using your SMU email address. After you have successfully created your account, you can access the content via website
or mobile App. New York Times covers News, Editorials/Opinions-Columns/Op-Ed, Sports, Arts, Science, Styles, Home, Travel, and other features. News Archives are available from 1851.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Economist.com covers issues in global business and politics. The coverage includes the archive of articles published since 1997 from the print edition of The Economist magazine, and 2000 to current issues come complete with graphs, tables and pictures.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find more than 80 regional US and Canadian Business publications. Indexes publications from content providers such as Interfax-America, Dolan Media, Al Bawaba, Crain Communications to name a few. Asian coverage includes selected titles from China, the Middle East and Russia. Contains some full text transcripts of television and radio news from CQ Transcriptions. This database indexes full-text, the Ivey Business Journal from 1997.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
WSJ provides current global news and probing analysis of markets, corporations, financials and technology. News archive
is available up to latest 7-year.
Access requirements: One-time registration
is required, using your SMU email address. After you have successfully created your account, you can access the service anywhere, across devices.
Library PressDisplay provides full-colour digital replications of hundreds of newspapers from around the globe. It offers full content and interactive access to more than 1,000 newspaper titles, from more than 80 countries and published in over 39 languages.
Available from home. The Straits Times is available in libraries only.
Search for Article in Singapore Newspapers on Factiva
In Factiva, Straits Times is available from 1 July 1989 and Business Times from 29 January 1984.
To search for an article in one specific newspaper:
- Click on Search > Search Builder in the top menu bar if that is not the default page
- Type the newspaper title in the Source search box, e.g. Business Times
- Click on the newspaper title in the results list to limit your search to this publication only
- Type the article title or keywords in the Free Text search box
- Select the Date range or type your own date range
- Click Search