Research Guides: Economic Statistics: Databases

Databases Intro

Databases allows you to search for scholarly journal articles, book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Specialized databases contain economic data, financial data, marketing data or statistical data.

See Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. Enter your SMU id and password.

Selected Statistical Databases

CEIC Database This link opens in a new window
CEIC Database provides time series data for the economy, industrial, finance, real estate, tourism, telecommunication and transport sectors for more than 200 countries in the world, with in-depth data for China and India.

Access: 9 concurrent users only. Remember to click LOGOUT in the menu bar when you are done.
Datastream
Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data.

Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account).

Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day.
Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream.
Guides: How do I install Datastream.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
For data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, international transactions, and government accounts. Data can be viewed by country, region, or world aggregate with time series for up to 30 years and is updated monthly. Data covering balance of payments, international investments and national accounts are also available. Produced by the International Monetary Fund.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
This is the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) online portal of aggregated information from its various publications, including books and journals for the following subscribed themes: Economics, Development, Education, Industry and Services, Social Issues/ Migration/Health. Most of the other content can be read online. To find non-OECD information, try a keyword search.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database This link opens in a new window
China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database (CSYD) is the largest, continuously updated statistical yearbooks full-text database in China. The platform includes various types of statistical yearbooks including national, regional, industry and enterprise yearbooks.

Access: 5 concurrent users only
National Population Census of China This link opens in a new window
National Population Census of China (NPCC) provides census data for the study of the condition and periodic evolution of the Chinese population. It includes the 2010 census of population data for the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities.

World Development Indicators

To access the World Development Indicators database, click here.

Databases with Market and Forecast Data

MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
The Country Statistics Database contains key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics for more than 200 countries. Some indicators available are GDP, Household Income, Household Savings, Transportation.
Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
Access this database for company and industry information, macroeconomic analysis, financial markets data, merges and acquisitions, forecasts and news for over 70 countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America, Africa & the Middle East. Includes some information on private companies. Many news sources are in the local language. It also contains some analyst reports.
EMIS
ISI Emerging Markets
Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport, previously known as GMID, is produced by Euromonitor. It is an integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Guide on How Do I use Passport is available.

Introduction to CEIC

Passport Video

Passport is a global market research database. Besides providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide, it contains economic time series data for more than 100 countries. This video provides an example of how one can retrieve economic data from the Passport database. The economic variable chosen is wage per hour in manufacturing.