It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
One-time registration is required using your SMU email address. After you have successfully created your account, you can access the content via website or mobile App. New York Times covers News, Editorials/Opinions-Columns/Op-Ed, Sports, Arts, Science, Styles, Home, Travel, and other features. News Archives are available from 1851.
Statistics portal covering a wide variety of topics, drawn from private and public sources of information. It contains dossiers (special theme insights), forecasts and industry reports. 170 industry sectors are covered, with additional focus on the digital market and economy. Also included are infographics, reports and results of studies from market research institutions.
WARC is a Marketing and Communications database providing resources ranging from branding to media planning & buying, adspend forecast, campaign development & tracking, audience insights, media channel intelligence and trends.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated. Let us know your feedback (email@example.com)
AUTM Webinars offers over 200 hours of training by seasoned practitioners on topics relating to intellectual property management and technology transfer, and includes webinars on topics like artificial intelligence and intellectual property, IP basics for software innovations, licensing university technology, patenting.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It contains more than 700,000 records on all subjects, especially humanities and social sciences (including but not limited to art, history, language, literature, religion, anthropology, sociology, political science, and economics). Coverage is from 1971 to the present.
Crunchbase is a platform for finding business information about private and public companies. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends.
To access this database, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org for the login details. Do not re-use login details as these will be periodically refreshed. Attempts to login in with the wrong login details will lead to locked account for 24hours.
Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on modern world history (1450-present). Coverage excludes the U. S. and Canada. The "Find it @ SMU Libraries" button under each record can be used to retrieve the full-text article.
Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers with over 4.7 million documents. It collects data from 182 countries (including Singapore) and thousands of sources worldwide such as NBER, World Bank, Federal Reserve, Asian Development Bank and even Government of Singapore. See sources list
Please contact the library if you have suggestions for other policy document sources to be covered by Overton.
Overton also allows you to see which of your papers are cited or mentioned by policy documents at both an individual level or at an institutional level helping you track your influence outside academia.
Overton also classifies policy documents by UN SDGs ( Sustainable Development Goals) allowing you to filter by specific goals.
PitchBook contains data on start-ups, their valuations and investment deals (by Private Equity firms, VCs and angel investors), along with their exits (acquisitions, IPOs, closings) for over two decades.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of company, deal or fund data.
10 daily / 25 monthly rows of people data per user.
Project Syndicate provides commentaries by distinguished economists and policymakers, including Nobel Laureates and political figures. Sections include Economics, Politics, Development, Sustainability, Culture, and Innovation. Includes full archive of past articles, including in-depth thematic coverage via ‘Big Picture’.
Sustainalytics is a leading independent provider of material environmental, social and corporate governance (ESG) ratings to investors. It provides comprehensive assessment of a company’s ESG performance within four dimensions, including preparedness, disclosure, quantitative performance and qualitative performance.