Data Sources - A to Z List - Research Data Sources - Research Guides at Singapore Management University

Subscribed Data Sources - A to Z List

Board Members Company Bloomberg BoardEx Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->MGMT. BoardEx: Advanced Search in Organisation section-->Characteristics panel, set Current Individual Type to "Board Members"-->search. Bond Rating Company Finance Bloomberg Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->identify the bond ticker-->CRPR. Commodity Price Economy Marketing EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts Datastream EIU market indicators & forecasts: Commodities --> choose Series (Yearly/Quarterly indicators, Prices) and Years --> search. Datastream: Look into the Commodity category, choose your data type and run the request. Company Beta Company Finance Bloomberg Datastream Bloomberg: Identify and enter the ticker symbol of the company of interest, press the <EQUITY> key, type beta, hit <GO>. Datastream: Static Request-->Equities as Data Category-->select series-->Datatype Navigator, search for beta. Company Bond Yield Company Finance CEIC Datastream CEIC: Chosen the country-->Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates (Global database) or Government & Other Securities (Daily database). Datastream: Time Series Request-->Series Selection-->Bond Indices & CDS, use the Explorer to choose series-->Datatype Mnemonic Picker, search for yield. Choose time period. Change the Freq if necessary. Submit request. Company Bonds Company Finance Bloomberg Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->CORP. Company Executives Company People Bloomberg BoardEx OneSource Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->EQS-->Enter criteria to select companies and add contact details. Press Enter to Update the list. Export to Excel.
In Excel, enter the formula in new column, =BDSA("COMPANY TICKER", "COMPANY_EXEC_OFFICERS"). BoardEx Company Identifiers Company Economy Finance
CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Monthly Stock File, do a full database search or use company names to search for Cusip, Ticker, Trading Symbol and other identifiers as you wish. Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->SECF-->search with company name. Company Information Company Marketing Bloomberg EMIS WRDS Bloomberg: Enter company name and click "GO" for a full set of information related to that company. Or enter company ticker followed by "DES" ("CN" for news and research, "MCN" for most popular news) and <Equity> for descriptive information. EMIS: Companies-->search with company names. COMPUSTAT via WRDS: Compustat --> Compustat Quarterly Updates --> Execucomp --> Annual Compensation-->look at Company Information box and set criteria

IBES Guidance via WRDS: IBES Guidance via WRDS compares analyst and management expectations on company performance, safe in the knowledge that they are using the same accounting basis for consistent analysis. Company Stock Identifier Company Finance CRSP via WRDS Bloomberg Bloomberg: Using company name to search for trading symbol via Bloomberg site. CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Monthly Stock File, using company names to search for Cusip, Trading Symbol or do a full database search for those identifiers. Consumer Expenditure Country Demography Economy Marketing Passport Passport: COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> CONSUMERS --> Income & Expenditure --> select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Geographies. Consumer Products Country Economy Marketing Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Search --> Look into the entries under Industries in the Category Tree, and choose items of interest --> choose Geographies and run the search. MarketLine Advantage: Market Data Analytics under Databases --> choose the product of interest from the Sector box --> choose Country and run the search. Or Country Statistics under Databases --> choose Countries --> look into Consumers/Consumer Durables under Classic indicators, and run the search. Consumer Segmentation Demography Economy Marketing Passport Passport: Goto Search, look into the Category Tree --> Countries and Consumers --> Consumer Behaviour --> Consumer Segmentation --> choose data items of interest --> choose Geographies and run the search.

Corporate Governance DataCompany Finance

RiskMetrics via WRDS: Registration required for access to WRDS platform.

Cost Breakdown Company Finance Marketing

Country Risk Rating Country Economy Finance
EIU market indicators & forecasts: Choose "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Country credit risk, select an data item in the sub list) and Years. CPI Country Economy CEIC MarketLine Advantage EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts CEIC: Global Database --> country --> Inflation --> Consumer Price Index. Note: different countries might have slightly different selection path. MarketLine Advantage EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts Credit Ratings of Bonds Finance Bloomberg Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->CRPR. Earnings/Sales Estimates Company Finance Marketing Bloomberg Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->EE. Exchange Traded Funds Finance Datastream Datastream: Set Data Category to Equities. Set Instrument Type to Exchange Traded Funds. Set Exchange or other parameters accordingly to obtain the list of ETFs. Executive Compensation People Compustat via WRDS BoardEx Equilar (DVD) Compustat via WRDS: Compustat --> Compustat Quarterly Updates --> Execucomp --> Annual Compensation, set criteria and search. BoardEx: Advanced Search-->Compensation-->set criteria and search. Equilar: Executive compensation data on the top officers in the S&P 1500 companies. Financial Ratios/Status Company Finance Bloomberg OneSource Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->FA.Fund Manager Finance People
Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->FSRC-->create/select criteria of interest-->if Fund Manager is not there, go to Actions-->Edit Display-->search for Fund Manager and add it to the columns. GDP Country Economy CEIC MarketLine Advantage CEIC MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" under Databases, choose country and indicators (Classic, Economy, GDP). GINI Index Country Economy Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Search --> Use "Gini Index" for Filter Tree --> choose Geographies --> Run Search. Look into the articles returned and "View Statistics". MarketLine Advantage: Use Databases --> Market Data Analytics --> Choose country --> Choose indicators. Government Bond Yield Country Economy Finance CEIC Datastream CEIC: Choose the country of interest, the time series data can be found under: Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates (Global database) or Government & Other Securities (Daily database). Datastream: Use Time Series Request --> Series Selection: Bond Indices & CDS, use the Explorer to choose the wanted series. Click Datatype Mnemonic Picker, search for yield. Choose the appropriate time period. Change the Freq if necessary. Submit your request. Gross Capital Formation Country Economy OECD OECD: OECD iLibrary --> Statistical --> search: Gross Capital Formation. Household Expenditure Country Demography Economy Marketing Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Look into COUNTRIES & CONSUMERS --> Income and Expenditure --> Consumers, select Consumer Expenditure in SEARCH TREE box --> Consumer Expenditure by Resident Households --> Geographies. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Final Consumption Expenditure, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Household Income Country Demography Economy Marketing Passport MarketLine Advantage Passport: Countries & Consumers --> Income --> select data categories related to income, eg. Annual Disposable Income, etc. Data available from the year 1990. MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" in Databases, choose indicators (Classic, Economy, Consumer Expenditure, Household Income, Gross, Local Currency) & countries of your choice. Index Options Finance Bloomberg Bloomberg: After the index ticker, enter OMON <GO>. This Options Monitor will list all the options of the index. Industry Identifiers Finance Industry Bloomberg Compustat via WRDS Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->ICS/GICS/SIC.Compustat via WRDS: Compustat --> Compustat Monthly Updates --> Global --> Fundamentals Annual, choose SIC and NAIS, set other criteria and search. Industry Information Economy Industry Marketing MarketLine Advantage MarketLine Advantage: Directly search with the name of industry of interest, look into any of the result entries, check out the panels contains industry statistics, ie. Market Data, Market Segmentation, Macroeconomic Indicators, Market Outlook. Industry Statistics Economy Industry MarketLine Advantage CEIC OneSource MarketLine Advantage: Use Databases --> Market Data Analytics -->choose Country --> choose industry indicators in "Sector" CEIC Inflation Rate Country Economy Passport Passport: Go for Search --> expand Economy and Finance under Countries and Consumers --> set filter properly (Inflation) --> Run Search. Narrow down the results by select an entry in the "by Statistics" filter on the left of the result page. Interest Rate of Government Bond Country Economy Finance Datastream Datastream: Use Datastream Excel Add-In, submit a time-series request, then follow this path to select series: Bond indices & CDS > Bond indices & CDS Explorer > Market analysis by source > Datastream > Benchmark > click the country > Select 10 year > Select the appropriate Mnemonic, Yield–Interest (Mnemonic is IY) for datatype. Select the year and frequency then click the Submit button. Intraday Stock Trading Finance TAQ via WRDS TAQ via WRDS: NYSE TAQ --> Consolidated Quotes under Trade and Quote, select data items of interest and set other criteria to search. LIBOR Economy Finance Datastream Bloomberg Datastream: Datastream --> Interest Rates --> Search for UK Interbank. Bloomberg: Bloomberg --> BBAM. Life Expectancy Country Demography Marketing Passport Passport: Search --> Input "life expectancy" for Filter Tree --> choose Geographies --> See Data Now or Run Search. Major Shareholders Company Bloomberg Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->HDS. Market Return Finance Industry Bloomberg CRSP via WRDS Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->MMAP. CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Daily Stock File --> look into the Market Information box, set other criteria and search. Members of Equity Index Finance Bloomberg Datastream Bloomberg: After index ticker, enter MEMB then <GO>. Datastream: Criteria Search or Equity Indices Explorer to browse for the equity index, S&P 500 Composite, click on the arrow next to the mnemonic, S&PCOMP, select Display Constituent Equities. Mergers & Acquisitions Finance SDC platinum SDC platinum MSCI Indices Company Finance Bloomberg Datastream Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->MSCI. Datastream: Use Datastream Excel Addin, select Static/Time Series Request, click on the Datastream Navigator button, for Data Category, select Equity Indices, click on the Equity indices Explorer, click on the + sign beside the By Source and find MSCI. New Stock Issues Company Finance SDC platinum SDC platinum: Global New Issues Databas --> choose Common Stock --> set time span --> Report: New Custom, and choose data items in the Deal panel--> save custom report and output format, using "save as" and choosing excel to export the data --> execute query. For more information can checkout this mini tutor from Harvard University. Outbound Investment Country Economy CEIC CEIC: Global Database --> country --> Investment --> other submenu items. Note: different countries might have slightly different selection path. Population Country Demography Marketing MarketLine Advantage Passport MarketLine Advantage: Choose "Country Statistics" under Databases, choose relavant indicators (Classic, Demographics, Population, Population by Gender/Age Distribution/Rural/Urban/Population by Marital Status) and country. Passport Security Identifier Finance Bloomberg CRSP via WRDS Bloomberg: Using company name to search for security trading symbol via Bloomberg site. CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Monthly Stock File, using company names to search for Cusip, Trading Symbol or do a fulldatabase search for those identifiers. Sharpe Ratio Finance Datastream Datastream: You can find Sharpe Ratio 3 Years Weekly (ie. Annualised Total Returns/Annualised Volatility) in DataStream by entering 445E in the Datatype search box. Short Interest Finance Compustat via WRDS Compustat via WRDS: Compustat --> Compustat Monthly Updates --> North America --> Supplemental Short Interest File, choose data items of interest, set other criteria and search. Sovereign Credit Ratings Country Demography Finance Bloomberg EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts Bloomberg: Bloomberg-->CSDR. EIU market indicators & forecasts: Use "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Country credit risk, Sovereign Debt risk (100=high) - S001 [Y]) and Years. Data covers earliest to year 1997. Stock Price Company Finance CRSP via WRDS CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Daily Stock File --> choose Price and any other items in the Time Series Information box, set other criteria and search. Stock Return Finance CRSP via WRDS CRSP via WRDS: CRSP --> Annual Update --> Stock/Security Files --> Daily Stock File --> choose Holding Period Return, Return without Dividends, and any other items in the Time Series Information box, set other criteria and search. Trade (domestic, international) Country Economy EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts MarketLine Advantage Passport CEIC EIU market indicators & forecasts: Choose "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Macroeconomic indicators, International Trade and the data item you need) and Years. MarketLine Advantage: Goto Country Statistics. Choose country and indicators (Classic, Economy, Trade, Exports/Imports). Passport CEIC Treasury Bill Returns Country Economy Finance CEIC Datastream CEIC: Global Database --> select country of interest --> Interest and Foreign Exchange Rates --> Treasury Bill and Government Securities Rates. Datastream: Look into Data Category --> Bonds & convertibles, or Interest rates, or Bond Indices & CDS --> Enter Series: treasury bill --> Find Series. Unemployment Rate Country Demography Economy CEIC MarketLine Advantage CEIC: CEIC has quarterly unemployment rate data from 1987 under the category Singapore: Demographic and Labour Market. MarketLine Advantage: Databases --> Country Statistics --> choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Unemployment Population, Unemployment Rate). Venture Capital Statistics Finance Industry SDC platinum SDC platinum: VentureXpert --> look into Industry Statistics, select Statistics --> Search Menu --> Venture Capital Funds --> close the Search Items window and go for Report (in the top menu) --> New Custom… --> select data items of interest --> save the search session and result. Wage Country Demography Economy MarketLine Advantage EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts MarketLine Advantage: Country Statistics-->Choose country and indicators (Classic, Labor Force & Employment, Wages). EIU market indicators & forecasts: Use "Data Selection", choose Countries, Series (Demographics and income, Personal income, then Average wages (monthly) - AVWG [Y]) and Years. Data from year 1990. Forecast data to year 2016 us available.