"Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them" - UNESCO
More information and access to open educational resources in terms of Open Ebooks, Open Journals, and other resources can be found in the following Research Guides:
1. eTextbooks & Open Educational Resources by Nazimah Ram Nath
2. Open Educational Resources (OER) by Melody Chin
The searchable databases below include images, audio and video resources that are in the public domain or shared with open use licenses. These resources can be used in presentations and multi-media projects within the terms of the licenses without requesting permissions.
An internet based archive for public domain image resources, as well as audio, video, and archived Web content.
The Cleveland Museum of Art released more than 34,000 digital images of public domain works in high resolution.
The Florida Center for Instructional Technology collection of clipart for use in non-commercial, non defamatory educational projects subject to minor restrictions.
An online sharing service where users share free public domain vector cliparts, or vector cliparts from public domain photos.
Search for images that are in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status.
A search engine of free vector designs. The majority of the resources offered at Freepik can be used for free with attribution.
"Each artist at Openclipart releases all rights to the images they share at Openclipart." Images are free to use for any purpose, commercial and non commercial.
Images on Pexels are released under Creative Commons CC0 and can be used for personal or commercial purposes freely.
Images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0 and can be downloaded, modified, distributed, and used them royalty-free.
The Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 19 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving our heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.
An online database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
A community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.
Collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds.
Royalty-free music site. Each piece on this site is available under different licenses and uses creative commons by attribution 3.0
Recordings, sheet music, and textbooks available to the public for free, without copyright restrictions.
Historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge.
Digital archive of Internet sites, audio recordings, moving images, and text.
A repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Created and sponsored by UNC's School of Library & Info Science. Archival videos include storyboards but no closed captions.
Videvo offers stock video footage and motion graphics for use in any project, commercial or non-commercial, through use of its own license or CC 3.0 license.
A browse-able collection of Creative Commons licensed videos.
By appending “, creativecommons” (including the comma) to the end of your search term, you can filter for YouTube videos released with a creative commons license.