Skip to main content
Li Ka Shing Library

How do I use Lexis?: Commentaries

Overview on how to use the various Lawnet functions.

Halsbury's Services

HALSBURY'S STATUTES CITATOR

The Halsbury's Statutes Citator provides a quick and easy-to-use guide to the current status of over 7,600 statutes. It provides a comprehensive list of amendments to all statutes which have been considered in Halsbury's Statutes since 1929. Amendments are noted to provision level, with any general notes relating to the Act as a whole appearing as the first note. Amendments relating purely to Scotland are not generally included, however, amendments made to statutes of general application by Acts of the Scottish Parliament are recorded. Provisions which apply only locally are not dealt with and are indicated as such (eg Scotland only).

Can be accessed through the Source Directory > Search: "Halsbury's Statutes Citator". Covers United Kingdom/England & Wales‚Äč.

HALSBURY'S ANNOTATIONS

Halsbury's Statutes Annotations contains the annotations which appear in the 50 volumes of Halsbury's Statutes of England and Wales. Covers UK/England & Wales and updates Monthly. It is available from the Commentary Tab of Lexis Singapore. 

The annotations provide precise information relating to: 

  • parliamentary debates
  • amendments and repeals
  • derivation notes in the case of consolidating legislation 
  • commencement 
  • cross-references to other provisions of the Act and to other relevant provisions in Halsbury's Statutes 
  • judicial interpretation 
  • subordinate legislation 
  • references to words specifically defined in the Act

HALSBURY'S IS IT IN FORCE?

Is it in Force? is a quick and easy-to-use reference tool which provides the information you need to establish the exact commencement dates of Acts of general application in England, Wales and Scotland and General Synod Measures passed since 1960. The short title and chapter number of every Public General Act is given, and unless the Act is of limited application only the following details are provided: the date on which the Act received royal assent; a list of provisions which deal with the commencement of the Act or any part thereof (including any commencement orders which have been made); any date or dates which have been appointed for the provisions of the Act to come into force; and an indication where any provision is not in force.

Is it in Force? does not contain details of amendments and repeals. For those, users should instead refer to Halsbury's Statutes Citator or the UK Parliament Acts Source (for amendments to Acts which apply to England and Wales), or the Scottish Parliament Acts Source (for amendments to Acts of the Scottish Parliament).

Available on the Commentary tab in Lexis Singapore. Covers Commonwealth, United Kingdom (England, Wales, Scotland).

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy