Skip to main content
Li Ka Shing Library

Master of Science in Financial Economics (MSFE) Programme: Databases

Resources and services useful for Master of Science in Financial Economics students

Databases Intro

Databases allow you to search for scholarly journal articles, book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Specialized databases contain financial data, marketing data or statistical data.

See  Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. Enter your SMU id and password.

1. Find Information from Financial Databases

To access Bloomberg, Datastream, Eikon, S&P Capital IQ, and SDC Platinum, use the dedicated terminals at the Investment Studio.  To book a terminal, use the Facilities Booking System.

2. Find Financial Statements & Annual Reports

Databases have different geographic coverage. To determine which database has the company annual reports and financial statements that you need, first find out where the company is listed. For instance, for companies listed in the US, try any of the following databases except Emerging Markets Information Service. Similarly, for companies listed in Singapore, try any of the following databases except Lexis.

More sources are provided in the Research Guide: Company Annual Reports.

Databases for Articles

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy