Search the contents of 19 historic and current newspapers of Singapore and Malaya. It includes The Straits Times (1845-2006), Singapore Chronicle (1831-1836), Straits Observer (1874-1897), Malayan Saturday Post (1924-1933), current newspapers like The Business Times from 2007 and TODAY from 2005. The full-text of 17 newspapers, especially The Straits Times for the period 1845-1989 can be viewed online.
Use Factiva for the full text of The Straits Times from July 1989 and Business Times from 1984.
Use this database to search for news articles from major national and international newspapers. Find Singapore and international company overviews using the Company Quick Search. Read the latest news from top business sources "at-a-glance" with the NewsPages feature.
Access and read all the latest Singapore and international news from the Straits Times online, web version. With ST Online or Straits Times.com, you can find additional content from STOMP, the citizenship journalism section, the forum, videos and blogs. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive. For earlier issues of full text articles use Factiva. Please note subscription does not include the Classifieds and Recruit Sections.
Click on the Legal Research menu tab followed by the Advanced Search option. Next, select Reference Materials under Resources and select only the Press Articles and Commentaries options to access legal news articles.
97 concurrent users. Remember to logout before leaving LawNet.
NOTE: JustCite is no longer available through LawNet. Please search for JustCite from the A-Z Database listing to access.
Library PressDisplay provides full-colour digital replications of hundreds of newspapers from around the globe. It offers full content and interactive access to more than 1,000 newspaper titles, from more than 80 countries and published in over 39 languages. Available from home. The Straits Times is available in libraries only.
Search for Article in Singapore Newspapers on Factiva
In Factiva, Straits Times is available from 1 July 1989 and Business Times from 29 January 1984.
To search for an article in one specific newspaper:
Click on Search > Search Builder in the top menu bar if that is not the default page
Type the newspaper title in the Source search box, e.g. Business Times
Click on the newspaper title in the results list to limit your search to this publication only
Type the article title or keywords in the Free Text search box