Skip to main content
Li Ka Shing Library

How do I use MarketLine Advantage: Contents in Detail

Guide to the content and features of MarketLine Advantage

Contents in MarketLine Advantage


Provides standardised summary reports (profiles) for industries and markets, published by MarketLine. There are over 7,000 profiles across more than 25 geographies and 200 markets. Profiles contain the following: Market Overview, Competitive Landscape, Leading Companies, Executive Summary, Market Value, Market Segmentation, Market Shares and Market Forecasts. Five Forces analysis is included in many profiles. Select coverage begins in 2002.


Provides standardised summary reports (profiles) for over 30,000 companies, published by MarketLine. Profiles contain the following: Company Overview, Business Description, History, Key Employees and Biographies, Company View, Locations and Subsidiaries, SWOT Analysis, Key Competitors, Major Products and Services. SWOT analysis is available for the largest 2,500 companies. Earliest coverage begins in 2007.


Provides concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies, published by MarketLine, to help you quickly and easily understand exactly what makes them successful. From social media initiatives to unusual store formats and online retailing, Case Studies present examples of best practice across a wide variety of industries and geographies, bringing innovation into full focus.


Provides company and market developments through Newswire published by MarketLine. Coverage begins in 1997.


Provides deal information published by MarketLine. Deals can be separated by "announced", "completed", "dead rumor", "rumored" and "terminated". Select coverage begins in 1945.


Provides approximately 110 standardised country summary reports (profiles) published by MarketLine. These PESTLE (political, economic, social, technological, legal, and environmental) profiles are updated nearly every year.

Contents in Country Statistics (database)

This database provides macro/socio-economic and demographic data for 215 countries worldwide, 46 political and geographical groupings, both historical and forecasted.

The indicators you can select are classified into:

Agriculture, Automotive, Commodities, Consumer, Defence, Demographics, Economy, Education, Energy and Utilities, Environment, Financial Services, Healthcare, Labour Force and Employment, Political, Technology and Communications, Transportation and Logistics, Travel and Tourism)

Contents in Financial Deals Tracker

Financial Deal Tracker is typically used for competitive intelligence and market intelligence. Deals coverage starts from 2007 and include:

- Global mergers and acquisitions (M&A)
- Private equity deals
- Venture finance deals
- Private placements
- IPOs
- Partnerships

Contents in Company Prospector

Company Prospector provides search tool that generates lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries/countries of interest. Type so data provided:

- Company name, primary industry and country
- Deals and alliences volume and value
- Capital raising volume and value
- Partnership volume
- News and events

Contents in Investment & Advisory Prospector

Investment & Advisory Prospector provides search tool that can quickly identify advisors and investors active in a particular area of interest and find insights to improve understanding of competitor investment and exit strategies and their relations with other investors and advisors. Types of data provided:

- Acquirer/investor name
- Investment volume and value
- Exits volume and value
- Deals and Alliences volume and value

Contents in Company Report Generator

Generates fresh, custom and comprehensive ‘all-in-one’ company reports featuring analytical text and charts on-demand. Type of reports included:

- Company snapshot
- Company profile
- Company financial deals report
- Master company report (Advisor info, Top deals, Deal overview, M&A, Partnership, etc.)
- Advisor report
- Investor analyzer report

Contents in Market Data Analytics (database)

This database includes comprehensive data across the fast moving consumer goods market. These include:

- Beverages - Alcoholic
- Beverages - Non-Alcoholic
- Food
- Household Products
- Personal Care
- Pet Care
- Tobacco 

The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy