Research Guides: Economics Research Navigator: News

Databases Available to SMU Community Only

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva combines more than 35,000 sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Content type includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, blogs, podcasts, websites, and newswires like Dow Jones and Reuters. Search in English, or another language of your choice. Find listed Singapore and international companies information under Companies/Markets. Take note that downloading of content for analytics is not permitted.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
FT.com includes breaking news, commentary, data and analysis. Take advantage of the premium learning tools such as Alerts Hub, FT clippings, FT Mobile, ePaper, FT Lexicon (glossary) and annotation tool. FT archive begins with 28 January 2009 issue.
Mobile version for smart phones and tablets is available.

To access click Sign In on the top of the homepage. If you are a first-time user you will be prompted to fill in some information after logging in.
Straits Times This link opens in a new window
Access and read all the latest Singapore and international news from the Straits Times online. Subscription allows access to 7-day Archive. For earlier issues of full text articles use Factiva.

Access restrictions: 10 concurrent users.
Access requirements: Straits Times is only supported by Chrome and Microsoft Edge browsers. Please Log out after each session. To Log out: Click smu_user, select Log out. Wait for the log out to complete before closing the browser window.

Search for Articles in Singapore Newspapers on Lexis

In Lexis, Straits Times and Business Times are available from 1 May 1992

Steps for searching Straits Times articles
1) Launch Lexis
2) Under Quick Tools, click Find a Source tab, type Straits Times Singapore in the Search Box and hit Enter key.
3) Type in the Search Box the relevant search terms and click the Search button. A list of articles will be displayed , click Edit Search to refine your search.

Databases Available Through the National Library Board

NewspaperSG This link opens in a new window
The NewspaperSG database contains digitised articles from current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers. It also contains information on newspapers that are in microfilm format.

Other Newspaper Resources
National Library members may also access other newspaper databases such as ProQuest Newspapers Complete or Library PressDisplay. Click on the hyperlink above for the Login page. Permanent Residents and foreigners who wish to borrrow eBooks and access eResources will need to sign up as library members at NLB's public libraries.

Browse Singapore Newspapers

In Factiva, you can browse the last 14 days of a newspaper (Straits Times and Business Times) available on News Pages:

Click on News Pages tab in the top menu bar
Click on Group Pages
Scroll to the newspaper and click on the dropdown arrow to select date and section

Browse more newspapers by country and industry under News Pages > Factiva Pages

Search for Article in Singapore Newspapers on Factiva

In Factiva, Straits Times is available from 1 July 1989 and Business Times from 29 January 1984.

To search for an article in one specific newspaper:

Click on Search > Search Builder in the top menu bar if that is not the default page
Type the newspaper title in the Source search box, e.g. Business Times
Click on the newspaper title in the results list to limit your search to this publication only
Type the article title or keywords in the Free Text search box
Select the Date range or type your own date range
Click Search