Research Guides: Social Sciences Research Navigator: Databases

Databases

Databases allows you to search for scholarly journal articles, and may include book chapters and conference papers. Some databases include the full text. Specialized databases contain financial data, marketing data or statistical data.

See Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy.

Most databases can be accessed from off-campus. You just need to enter your SMU ID and Password when prompted.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full text database
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of full text articles from scholarly journals
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database

Statistical Databases

Use these statistical databases subscribed by the Library to get time series data for many economic and social statistics:

CEIC Database This link opens in a new window
Besides economic, industrial and financial data for many countries, it also has demographic, labour and household survey data. Platform by Internet Securities.

EIU Market Indicators & Forecasts
Use this database if you are looking for global market indicators and forecasts covering 1990 to 5 years forward. Data is available for macroeconomic indicators, demography, income, consumer goods, financial services and labor productivity. Also available are EIU ratings for business risk, country credit risk, politics, institutions and regulations.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of social science data, containing 65,000 data sets from more than 10,000 studies. Users may view documentation, download raw data for analysis, search data-related literature and use training exercises to learn analysis techniques.

One-time registration required with SMU email.

Account renewal required every 6 months.

OECD iLibrary
Includes data for economic, industry and social indicators for OECD countries. With data from core titles such as OECD Economic Outlook and OECD Economic Surveys.
Passport (previously Global Market Information Database, GMID)
Provides key business intelligence on countries, markets, and consumers. It focuses more on fast moving consumer goods and provides users with historical statistics, forecasts, analysis of consumer lifestyles, brand and company information, and full-text market analysis. Includes in-depth data on population, people, households & homes, leisure & lifestyle. Produced by Euromonitor.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal covering a wide variety of topics, drawn from private and public sources of information. It contains dossiers (special theme insights), forecasts and industry reports. 170 industry sectors are covered, with additional focus on the digital market and economy. Also included are infographics, reports and results of studies from market research institutions.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Access to development indicators from the World Bank with time series data for over 220 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Psychology Databases

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Index of psychology and behavioral sciences literature
Ebscohost has a mobile web application at http://m.ebscohost.com/

Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, etc.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.
PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Covers book chapters of titles published by APA
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PsycBOOKS together.

Sociology Databases

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Use the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology to find definitions and explanations of key concepts in sociology and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad spectrum of sociological studies. The subjects covered include abortion, demography, political sociology, urban sociology, social psychology, sociological history and sociological research.
Sociological Abstracts
This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
The Institute of Southeast Asia Studies (ISEAS) Collection
The Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) eBook Collection consists of more than 400 book titles published by ISEAS from 1980 to present, with titles covering the socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Singapore, Southeast Asia, and Asia Pacific.
Social Service Abstracts
This database indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 journals, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Use Sociological Abstracts to find relevant articles for sociology and social sciences, including topics on culture, demography, business and education.

Political Science and Asian Studies Databases

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Includes government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, etc.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for journals, books, conference papers, etc.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
Full text reports for business, government, economics, and social issues from institutional publishers and think tanks from around the world
China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of Chinese language journals published in PRC

Philosophy and Arts Databases

Philosophy Online This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles, some with links to full text
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database
Access via Web of Science where the default search includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles with links to full text