How do I use APA Citation Style

Primary sources are no different to cite than other types of materials.  A basic citation contains four components:

• Author/creator
• Date
• Title
• Publication information - Remember that the publication information is what varies among different types of resources. For most primary sources, you will be most interested in the Repository, Museum or Owner, along with the Name of the collection.

Here are a few examples of primary source references and in-text citations.  However, as with all references, the reference itself will depend on the type of resources, and the information available about that resource. To learn more about citing archival material, visit the APA Style Blog.

• Online photograph from an online museum or archival collection - no author

  Format: Title: The subtitle [Description]. (YYYY). Name of collection, Repository, museum or owner, Museum Location.  URL

  Malay spinning girls [Photograph]. (ca. 1860-1900). Colonial Office photographic collection (CO 1069-484-026), The National Archives UK, Richmond, United Kingdom. https://www.flickr.com/photos/nationalarchives/7886229088/in/album-72157631302263418/

   

  In-text: ("Malay spinning girls," 1860-1900).

   

• Letter from an online museum or archival collection

  Format: Author, A. A., Authorb, B. B., Authorc, C. C., & Authord, D. D. (YYYY). [Description of letter]. Name of collection, Repository, museum or owner, Museum Location. URL

   

  Kanjeng Kyai Angrurah Jambe of Badung & Kyai Angrurah Agung of Mengwi. (1768). [Letter in Balinese on a sheet of gold]. British Library Digitised Manuscripts (Egerton MS 765). http://www.bl.uk/manuscripts/FullDisplay.aspx?ref=Egerton_MS_765 

   

  In-text: (Kanjeng Kyai Angrurah Jambe of Badung & Kyai Angrurah Agung of Mengwi, 1768).

   

• Advertisement from an online museum or archival collection

  Format: Company name.  (YYYY). Title: The subtitle [Description].  Name of collection, Repository, museum or owner, Museum Location. URL

  Liebig's Extract of Meat Company. (1907). Antica pagoda sul fiume Hue [Advertisement]. Images of colonialism collection (Asia series), Widener Library, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, United States. http://id.lib.harvard.edu/images/olvwork400401/catalog

   

  In-text: (Liebig's Extract of Meat Company, 1907).