Research Guides: Accounting Research Navigator: Financial databases

Find information from high-end financial databases in Investment Studio

Bloomberg Professional Services This link opens in a new window Bloomberg provides real-time and historical pricing, indicative and fundamental data, charts and graphs on different topics, customized analytics, and market news. Use this database to obtain financial and business information, including real-time and intra-day data. Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Bloomberg computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login Instructions: Click on the Bloomberg icon on the desktop and login using the Bloomberg login ID & PW. Optional: Create an individual Bloomberg account. Guides: How do I use Bloomberg, FAQs and Bloomberg Market Concepts. Important Note: Bloomberg has ceased its extended temporary remote access service with effect from 30 June 2022. For access to Bloomberg, please visit the Investment & Data Studio.
Datastream Datastream is a financial and economic database of Refinitiv. It provides current and historical time series data on equities, bonds, indices, unit trusts, investment trusts, bonds, exchange rates, interest rates, commodities, derivatives, and economic data. Access via Datastream alternatively via WRDS (you will need a WRDS account). Booking instructions: Book an Eikon terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Step 1 > Click the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Step 2 > At Excel, install the Datastream Excel add-on to access Datastream. Guides: How do I install Datastream.
Eikon This link opens in a new window Eikon provides real-time and historical pricing, charts and graphs, customized analytics, and market news on markets such as equities, commodities, fixed income, forex. Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and use the corresponding Eikon computer in the Investment & Data Studio at Level 3. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click on the Eikon icon on the desktop and wait for the login details to load automatically. DO NOT click on the login area. Guides: How do I use Eikon.
FactSet This link opens in a new window FactSet provides data and analytics for global financial and economic markets. Use FactSet to access news and quotes, company and industry analysis and reports, screening features, and tools to analyze securities and portfolios. Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and access the Investment & Data Studio FactSet terminal. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click on the FactSet icon on the desktop and wait for the application to load automatically. Guides: How do I use FactSet.
Wind Financial Terminal This link opens in a new window Wind Financial Terminal provides data and information on Chinese financial market, covering stocks, bonds, funds, indices, warrants, commodity futures, foreign exchanges, macro industry, etc. in Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. Booking instructions: Book a terminal here and access the Investment & Data Studio WIND Financial Terminal. Limited to one booking per user per day. Login instructions: Click on the WIND icon on the desktop and wait for the application to load automatically. Guides: How do I use WIND.

User Manuals for Finance databases

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

WRDS is an Internet-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. WRDS provides access to Compustat, CRSP, NYSE TAQ, I/B/E/S, Institutional (13F), Mutual Funds, Insiders Filing Data, and other important business research databases.

Undergraduate Students: Email the Library for a WRDS account. In your email, please provide the following information so that we may expedite the application process:

i) Purpose and duration of use of WRDS account.
ii) Project name and name of supervising Faculty. For class projects, please indicate course module name.
iii) Likely data/databases that you will be using. This is to circumvent termination of subscriptions before projects are completed.

Faculty/Postgraduate Students/Staff: Register with WRDS for a personal account.

The following databases are available with our subscription: