Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W

A
Academic Writing (WRIT001)
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Feb 12, 2012
Research guide on defining a topic and doing a literature search

Accounting
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
Research guide on accounting related resources

Advanced Equity Analysis (FNCE622, AY2010/11 Term 2)
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
Research guide on resources for equity analysis



Alumni Research Navigator
by Joan Wee, Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012
Guide to credible resources even after graduation from SMU

Analysis of Equities (FNCE602)
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Aug 23, 2011
Research guide on resources for financial analysis and valuation of companies

Asia Pacific Business (MGMT312 Prof Caroline Yeoh)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Research guide for information resources on businesses in Asia Pacific

Asian Modern History, Politics and Economics (ASIA001)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Research guide for information resources on Asia, with a focus on historical, political and economic aspects

Asian Peace-Building & Rule of Law
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012

Australia
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jul 18, 2011
Guide to Australian legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more

B
Best Business Books
by Jennifer Usah, Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Oct 31, 2011
This guide points to 'good reads' in the business discipline.

Bridging Programme
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012
Guide to support students in the Bridging Programme of the Centre for English Communication

Business Law for Non-Law Students
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Jan 11, 2012
Guide to legal resources for Business students


Business Study Mission: Bahrain (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on Bahrain.

Business Study Mission: Israel (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
This guides points to useful print and electronic resources.

Business Study Mission: Kuwait (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on Kuwait

Business Study Mission: Oman (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on Oman

Business Study Mission: Qatar (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on Qatar

Business Study Mission: Saudi Arabia (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Research guide for finding background information on Saudi Arabia

Business Study Mission: Taiwan (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research Guide for finding background information on Taiwan


Business Study Mission: United Arab Emirates (UAE) (MGMT301)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Dec 18, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on United Arab Emirates (UAE)

Business, Government and Society (MGMT003 Prof Burkhard Schrage)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 23, 2011
Research guide for information resources on business, government and society. Use this guide for Term 1, Academic Year 2011-2012.

Business, Government and Society (MGMT003 Prof Elizabeth Su)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
Research guide for information resources on business, government and society. Use this guide for Term 2, Academic Year 2011-2012.

Business, Government and Society (MGMT003 Prof Geng Xuesong)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
Research guide for information resources for business, government and society

Business, Government and Society (MGMT003 Prof Loo Khee Sheng)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
Research guide for information resources on business, government and society. Use this guide for Term 1, Academic Year 2011-2012.

Business, Government and Society (MGMT003)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011
Research guide for information resources on business, government and society. Use this guide for Term 1, Academic Year 2010-2011.

C
Canada
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jan 4, 2011
Guide to Canadian legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more.

Careers
by Joan Wee - Last Updated Apr 1, 2012
Research Guide for resources relating to careers, job-hunting and resume writing

Company Annual Reports
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011
Guide to sources for company annual reports

Company Information
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Jan 25, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on companies

Consumer Behavior (MKTG102)
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Sep 4, 2011

Contemporary South Asian Societies (SOCG109)
by Priyanka Sharma, Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 21, 2012
Research guide for information sources on South Asian countries

Country Rankings
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Research guide to sites and databases with ranking information on countries and cities

Criminal Law (LAW103)
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Aug 22, 2011
Guide to criminal law research in Singapore

D
Dance: East and West (FNAR001)
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jul 28, 2011
Research guide to resources for dance

Data Management & Analytics
by Wei Xia - Last Updated May 27, 2011
Research guide to resources for Data Management & Analytics

Dissertation / Thesis Research and Writing
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated May 14, 2012
Guide to help students in researching and writing their thesis/dissertation

Doha Debates
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Guide to topical debates on Middle East and GCC countries

E
Economic Analysis (FNCE617 MAF)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jul 31, 2011
Guide to resources on economic analysis of micro and macro economics topics

Economic Development in Asia (ECON 118)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Guide to resources on economic development in Asia

Economic Statistics
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Guide to sources of economic and financial time series data.

Economics (ECON609)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Sep 4, 2011
Guide to resources for ECON 609

Economics Research Navigator
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated May 7, 2012
Gateway to economics research resources and services available in SMU


Enterprise Systems and Solutions
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
Research guide to resources for Enterprise Systems & Solutions

Equities
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Research guide on resources for equity analysis

Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) Programme
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
Research guide to resources and services useful for Executive Master of Business Administration students

F
Financial Accounting (ACCT611)
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
Guide to financial accounting resources for ACCT611

Foundations in Corporate Communication (COMM102 Prof Gregor Halff)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Research guide for information resources on communication in business or corporate settings

G
Gender Politics (POSC308)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Research guide for information sources for gender in politics


Getting the most out of Google in SMU and beyond
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011
Research guide for information on how to search Google using advanced techniques and tools such as Google Books and Google Scholar. Includes evaluation criteria for web sites.

Global Software Project Management (IS411)
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Feb 14, 2011

Governance & Risk Management (ACCT402)
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Sep 21, 2011
Guide to resources on governance and risk management

Government and Politics in Southeast Asia (POSC213)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
Research guide for information resources on politics in Southeast Asia

H
Handy Mobile Apps
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Healthcare Management & Leadership (HLCR)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
Research guide for information resources on healthcare management

Hong Kong
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Mar 31, 2011
Guide to Hong Kong legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more

How do I access Full Text Articles
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Aug 23, 2010
Guide to finding full text when given the detailed information for a journal article or newspaper article

How do I avoid Plagiarism
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated Nov 1, 2011
Guide on what to check before you 'copy and paste'

How do I Locate Case Law?
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Aug 17, 2011
Guide to locating case law within the Library's collection.

How do I Locate Law Journal Articles?
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Aug 17, 2011
Guide to locating law journal articles within the Library's collection.

How do I research Information Systems topics
by Wei Xia - Last Updated May 24, 2011
Guide to researching information systems topics.

How do I use APA Citation Style
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated May 13, 2012
A guide with examples for references and in-text citation

How do I use Bloomberg
by Celia Cheung, Chrissy Tan - Last Updated Apr 19, 2012
This guide provides a brief introduction to Bloomberg and helps you understand how to navigate the database.

How do I use Chicago Author-Date Citation Style
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jul 7, 2011
A guide with examples for references and in-text citation using the Chicago Manual of Style

How do I use Chicago Notes & Bibliography Citation Style
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jul 15, 2011
A guide with examples for notes and bibliography style using the Chicago Manual of Style

How do I use Classic Catalogue
by Joan Wee - Last Updated May 30, 2011
Guide to using the classic catalogue basic search, advanced search and course reserves

How do I use Datamonitor360
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Aug 21, 2011
Guide to the content and features of Datamonitor360

How do I use Datastream
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Feb 20, 2012
Guide to the content and features of Datastream

How do I use EndNote Web
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated Jun 28, 2011
A pictorial guide on basic features and functions of EndNote Web

How do I use EndNote X2
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated Jul 17, 2011
A pictorial guide on basic features and functions of EndNote X2

How do I use EndNote X4
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A pictorial guide on basic features and functions of EndNote X4

How do I use Gartner
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Jul 15, 2011
Guide to Gartner database content and features


How do I use Halsbury's Laws of Singapore?
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jan 13, 2012
Guide to using Halsbury's Laws of Singapore in print format.

How do I use My Library Account
by Joan Wee - Last Updated Sep 13, 2011
A guide that shows you how to manage your borrowing.

How do I use PYXIS
by Rajendra Munoo, Yuyun Wirawati Ishak, Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Dec 27, 2011
Guide to using the research tools in SMU digital library, PYXIS

How do I use S&P Capital IQ
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Guide to the content and features of S&P Capital IQ

How do I use Safari Tech Books Online
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Jul 14, 2011
Guide to the content and features in Safari Tech Book Online database

How do I use Thomson ONE Banker
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Jul 25, 2011
Guide to the key features in Thomson ONE Banker for company information, research reports and M&A information

Human Capital and Economics of Education (ECON 239)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Feb 2, 2012
Guide to resources for the Human Capital and Economics of Education Course

I
India
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Aug 17, 2011
Guide to Indian legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more


Information Security & Trust
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Jul 13, 2011
Research guide to resources relevant to Information Security & Trust

Information Systems & Management
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Research guide to resources for Information Systems Management

Information Systems Research Navigator
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Apr 11, 2012
Research guide to resources for Information Systems

Insurance Law (LAW418)
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jul 4, 2011
Guide to insurance law research.

Intelligent Systems & Interaction
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
Research guide to resources for Intelligent Systems & Interaction

International Business (MGMT205 Prof Burkhard Schrage)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 21, 2011
Research guide for information resources on international business

International Economics A (ECON103)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Guide to locating resources for International Economics

International Economics B (ECON203)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 18, 2012
Guide to resources on international trade and international finance

International Macroeconomics ECON 235
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Aug 23, 2011
Guide to resources on international macroeconomics

Introduction to Business Research
by Ruth Pagell - Last Updated Jul 18, 2010
A course designed for librarians, students and researchers of business information


Introduction to Political and Policy Studies (POSC003)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Research guide for information resources on political science

Introductory Economics (ECON001)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Aug 19, 2011
Guide to resources for the Introductory Economics course

Investment and Financial Data Analysis (QF302)
by Celia Cheung - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
Research guide to resources for quantitative finance and financial data analysis

K
Korean Culture and Society
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
Research guide for information resources for Korean culture and hallyu

L
Law Research Navigator
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Apr 22, 2012
Gateway to legal research resources and services available in SMU. We look forward to being your research partner!

Law RSS Feeds
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Apr 15, 2012
Directory of law related RSS feeds including legal news, legislations updates, recent judgments, journal table of contents, new book titles, podcasts and database search tips

Legal Internship Preparation Course: Company and Industry Research
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011
Research guide for information resources on company and industry research


Legal Research & Writing (LAW 106)
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated May 14, 2012
Guide to legal research for law students.

Legal Research 101: Skills for my first week of law school
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
Guide for first year law students to navigate the Library's resources and to retrieve course readings

M
Macroeconomics for Financial Markets (ECON 603)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jul 20, 2011
Guide to resources relating to the economic aspects of financial markets

Management of People at Work (OBHR 101 Prof David Wagner)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Research guide for information resources on management

Management of People at Work (OBHR 101 Prof David Wagner)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Sep 18, 2011
Research guide to information resources for management for AY 2010/11 Term 2

Management of People at Work (OBHR101 Prof Jochen Reb)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Research guide for information resources on management

Management of People at Work (OBHR101 Prof Michael Daniels)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Sep 6, 2011
Research guide for information resources on management of people at work. Use this guide for Term 1, Academic Year 2011-2012.

Management of People at Work (OBHR101 Prof Poornima Luthra)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated May 2, 2012
Research guide to support the course OBHR 101 Management of People at Work taught by Prof. Poornima Luthra in the Academic Year 2011-2012, Term 3A/3B.

Management, Leadership & Ethics (MGMT 600 Prof Gilbert Tan)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 18, 2011
Use this guide for Prof Gilbert Tan in Academic Year 2010/2011, Term 2

Marketing Research (MKTG103 Prof. Cathy Chen)
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
A guide to information resources useful for marketing research

Marketing Research (MKTG103 Prof. Raymond Teo)
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
A guide to information resources useful for marketing research

Master of Business Administration (MBA) Programme
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Research guide to resources and services useful for Master of Business Administration students

Master of IT in Business (Financial Services) Programme
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Research guide to resources for Master of IT in Business students focusing on financial services

Master of IT in Business (Service Sector Analytics) Programme
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Research guide to resources for Master of IT in Business students focusing on services sectors.

Master of Science in Communication Management
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated May 2, 2012
A joint programme by SMU, Singapore & USI, Lugano, Switzerland. This is the programme portal for the Academic Year 2012-2013. It points to useful electronic and print resources for the courses.


Monetary Economics (ECON 210)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012
Guide to resources for monetary economics

N
New Features in PYXIS
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jul 25, 2011
Guide to developments and enhancements in PYXIS to help you find more relevant resources

P
People's Republic of China
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Mar 29, 2011
Guide to Chinese legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more

Political Economy of East Asia (POSC102)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Research guide for information resources on politics in East Asia, China, Hong Kong, Japan, and Korea

Political Science
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Dec 27, 2011
Research guide to resources for Political Science

Population and Society (SOCG212)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Nov 10, 2011
Research guide for information resources on demography, population and society

Portal for Institute of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (IIE)
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jul 6, 2011
Gateway for resources on entrepreneurship and innovation, including venture capital, patents and IP

Portal for International Islamic Law and Finance Centre
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jan 15, 2012
Gateway to resources on Islamic law, finance and commerce

Portal for the Centre for Dispute Resolution
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated May 4, 2012
Gateway to resources for dispute resolution, particularly arbitration and mediation

Portal for the Lien Centre for Social Innovation
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated Jan 15, 2012
A collection of resources - both subscribed and available for free - to suport research at the Lien Centre for Social Inovation at Singapore Management University.

Psychology
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 13, 2012
Research guide to find articles, journals, books and websites in Psychology

Public International Law (LAW 404)
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Jul 4, 2011
Guide to public international law research

Public Management in Developing Countries (SOCG307)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Research guide for information resources on public management

Q
QR Codes
by Yuyun Wirawati Ishak - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012

R
Real Estate and Financial Cycles (ECON 643)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Guide to resources for ECON 643 Real Estate and Financial Cycles

Research Resources for Behavioural Sciences
by Priyanka Sharma - Last Updated May 9, 2012
Gateway to the resources available for research in Behavioural Sciences

Rise and Fall of the Great Powers (POSC202)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 9, 2011
Research guide for information resources on the history and politics of major players

RSS Feeds for Librarians
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Jun 3, 2011
Directory of RSS feeds relevant to librarians

RSS Feeds for Organizational Behavior and Human Resources (OBHR) Journals
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Aug 10, 2011
Directory of RSS feeds for Organizational Behavior and Human Resources (OBHR) Journals

S
Singapore
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Dec 4, 2011
Guide to Singapore legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more.

Singapore Studies (HUMN007)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
Research guide for information resources on Singapore Studies

Singapore Studies: Governance & Economy (HUMN006)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Apr 13, 2012
Research guide for information resources on Singapore Studies on governance and economy

Social Sciences Research Methods (SSRM001)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
Research guide for information resources on social sciences and research methods

Social Sciences Research Navigator
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Gateway to social sciences research resources and services available in SMU

Social Statistics
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Dec 26, 2011
Research guide for resources to find data to track the social progress of countries or groups

Sociology
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Mar 15, 2011
Research guide for articles, databases, journals, and information resources for Sociology

Sociology of Food (SOCG301)
by Priyanka Sharma, Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Research guide to support the course on Sociology of Food.

Software Systems
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Jan 2, 2011
Research guide to resources for Software Systems

Strategic Brand Management (MKTG 217)
by Joseph Kennedy - Last Updated Jan 12, 2012
Research guide for information resources for brand management


Strategy (MGMT102 Prof Terence Fan)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated May 1, 2012
This guide points to useful print and electronic resources.

T
Technology and World Change (MGMT002 Prof Rajah Kumar)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Sep 4, 2011
Research guide to support the course MGMT 002 Technology and World Change taught by Prof Rajah Kumar in Academic Year 2011-2012

Technology and World Change (MGMT002 Prof Terence Fan)
by Rajendra Munoo - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Use this guide for Professor Terence Fan Academic Year 2011-2012 Term 2


Technopreneurship Study Mission: India (IS427)
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Oct 31, 2011
Research guide for finding background information on India.


U
United Kingdom
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Mar 13, 2011
Guide to UK legal research resources on case law, legislation, secondary materials, websites and more.

Urban Economics and Policies (ECON 645)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012
Guide to resources for the Urban Economics and Policies Course

Urban Economics and Real Estate (ECON 230)
by Meow Hui Chia - Last Updated Dec 4, 2011
Guide to resources on urban economics and real estate market

Urban Regions and Cities in World Politics (SSGS001)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Feb 7, 2011
Research guide for information resources on urbanization and political life in cities

V
Vietnam
by Charlotte Gill - Last Updated Mar 16, 2011
Guide to Vietnamese legal research

Visual Analytics for Business Intelligence (IS428)
by Wei Xia - Last Updated Jan 24, 2011
Research guide for books, articles, databases, journals, and information resources relevant to Visual Analytics

W
World Politics (POSC103)
by Pin Pin Yeo - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Research guide to resources for world politics, international relations and globalization

Research Navigators

Use the research navigators as a starting point for resources for your school or discipline:

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates

Featured Librarian

Profile Image
YEO Pin Pin
Contact Info
Level 3 Li Ka Shing Library
Tel: 6828-0110
Send Email
Academic Qualifications:
B Soc Sc (Hons) NUS, Dip IM Lib UNSW
My Interests:
Citation analysis, Reference services, Evaluation of reference services, Information literacy