Skip to main content
SMU Libraries

API - for Scholarly resources: Home

Description of resources that are useful for academic research

What is an API?

What is an API? 

API which stands for application programming interface is a communication protocol or interface which among other things allows you to quickly gain access to data.

Most APIs are RESTFUL APIs and can be fairly easily called to pull the data you need.

There are thousands of APIs out there but we will focus on the most important one relating to the area of Information Science, Scholarly communication and bibliometrics, which can be useful to librarians, researchers who are doing research or analysis in this domain. 

For more APIs beyond that which refer to API Directories like Programmable Web.

Access to Scholarly metadata

Description - Main DOI registration agency for most western major journal publishers (e.g. Elsevier, Springer-Nature) who deposit information on journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more that are issued dois by Crossref

Content coverage - Over 100 million dois as of Sept 2018, with compulsory and recommended fields (for journal articles) - title, ISSN,journal issue/volume, publication date, contributor info, ORCID, page number and optional fields - references, affiliation, abstracts, license information, funder, grant information, relationships between dois. In rare occasions can be used for text data mining if licenses have been signed.

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://www.crossref.org/services/metadata-delivery/rest-api/


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

Alternatives - BASE search API - BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is one of the biggest aggregators of repositories with over 150 million documents indexed


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Provides availability status (e.g. available OA or not) of doi supplied.

Content coverage - Provides information on availability of open access and for each location, the URL, type of open access (e.g. repository hosted or publisher hosted), version of open access available (e.g. Publisher version vs accepted version vs submitted version), information on whether Journal is in DOAJ.

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://unpaywall.org/data-format

Alternatives - Open Access button API (accepts URLs, titles not just DOIs), CORE Discovery API


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

Alternatives - Open Access Button API , CORE Discovery API


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

APIs with metadata and full-text

Description - Main DOI registration agency for most western major journal publishers (e.g. Elsevier, Springer-Nature) who deposit information on journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more that are issued dois by Crossref

Content coverage - Over 100 million dois as of Sept 2018, with compulsory and recommended fields (for journal articles) - title, ISSN,journal issue/volume, publication date, contributor info, ORCID, page number and optional fields - references, affiliation, abstracts, license information, funder, grant information, relationships between dois. In rare occasions can be used for text data mining if licenses have been signed.

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://www.crossref.org/services/metadata-delivery/rest-api/


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

None-open API which requires subscriptions (ask the library!)

Description - Main DOI registration agency for most western major journal publishers (e.g. Elsevier, Springer-Nature) who deposit information on journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more that are issued dois by Crossref

Content coverage - Over 100 million dois as of Sept 2018, with compulsory and recommended fields (for journal articles) - title, ISSN,journal issue/volume, publication date, contributor info, ORCID, page number and optional fields - references, affiliation, abstracts, license information, funder, grant information, relationships between dois. In rare occasions can be used for text data mining if licenses have been signed.

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://www.crossref.org/services/metadata-delivery/rest-api/


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api


Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

Description - Another DOI registration agency like Crossref but issues DOIs for repositories including Zenodo, Figshare, Researchgate and many institutional repositories

Content coverage - Similar to Crossref, members of Datacite which include repositories deposit metadata about items that are issued dois (which tends to be preprints, datasets & software).

How to register - No registration required

Documentation - https://support.datacite.org/docs/api

Research Librarian

Aaron Tay's picture
Aaron Tay
Contact:
Li Ka Shing Library
68280055
Website
Subjects:Accounting
The use of electronic resources must comply with the Appropriate Use of Electronic Resources Policy and Singapore Management University Acceptable Use Policy